Is this Going to be on the Test?

I’m taking the GRE next week– it’s like the SAT for big people. And it’s hard. Not only that, but I’ve been studying for a little while now, and I’ve decided that the questions are pretty irrelevant. Sure, their questions represent the type of thinking a student does in grad school, but I’m not in grad school yet, am I? So here is my list of more accurate questions that we should all be able to answer. You have 25 minutes. Go.

1. “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 2, was the best film of the Harry Potter franchise.” Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with this statement.

2. Samantha graduated from college in May. Factoring in her decreased caloric output due to lack of exercise at her new desk job and decreased caloric intake due to lack of beer, what are the chances that Samantha will still fit into her jeans?

3. While babysitting a 3rd grader, upon her inspection of your printing, how many of the 26 letters of the alphabet have you been writing incorrectly?

4. At this same babysitting job, you are paid more per hour than at your state-funded job while an undergrad. Why, then, are you planning on going back to school anyway?

Four is a strange number of examples to provide, but I can’t think of anymore. I’m tired, and geometry kicked my butt.

Oh, and you get a B+.

Leave a Reply

