Don’t Miss Me Too Much

Wednesday already, and I haven’t posted a single thing. Life has become scattered once again due to my amazing job. I am exhausted and exhilarated and totally blessed by the young people with whom I get to work. Writing takes a back seat for these next few weeks; even though I have a few drafts started (good ones, I hope!), my amount of time devoted to writing each day is quickly diminishing (as is my Internet connection! Ugh!).

Despite the fact that it is 2 pm and I could totally pass out right now because that is how hard it is to keep up with nine kids under the age of 15, it is not true that I have nothing to post. I do have something!

My campers are blogging! And it wasn’t even my idea!

As a part of their commitment to people who sponsored their trip down here, they are blogging and tweeting about their adventures and their accomplishments. Hopefully, they go home with some understanding of how they can better serve the community where they are from, especially when it comes to hunger and homelessness. It’s a complicated and unfair world in which we live, but my hope is that their week with us helps them untangle a few of the unfortunate knots in society, one step at a time.

Go read about Marysville United Methodist Church and its inspirational Jr. High students.

http://marysvilleumc.org/lastmission/

P.S. Yes, that’s me in the purple sweater. Your first picture of my face. Good thing I totally showered that day…

10 thoughts on “Don’t Miss Me Too Much

  1. Wow, what a great thing to be a part of. That’s a tough age to work with, but their posts and the pictures seem like they are having a lot of fun!

  2. I’m going to invent the 36 hour day and become a millionaire. Everyone will love me and thank me when they have enough time in the day to pursue other interests, such as writing.

    Keep up the good work with those kids! You’re doing a good thing there!

  3. LOL, you have the same smile my daughter has when she’s in trouble and says I’m cute so don’t ground me too long. You’re doing wonderful work girlfriend.

    • That’s exactly what I was going for haha. Actually, that’s my “I’m not sure if you’re actually going to take my picture right now” smile. My usual smile is the “I’m going to smile so big that I look like a monster” smile, which is present in about half of my pictures. And of course your daughter is too cute to be grounded! It’s true of us all! haha.

  4. Awww, you’re so purdy!!!

    Glad you are having fun and are exhausted at something that is so worthwhile. Those kids have ALL the energy, huh? My 7 year old was literally vibrating with energy yesterday because he didn’t get to go run around at all. Kids will definitely wear you out! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • It’s funny, because I love to complain about how tired I am (Who doesn’t?), but I’m also the type of person who has to be busy ALL the time. They’re wearing me out, but it’s sure better than being bored!

Leave a Reply

